I think the Spambots are evolving
Yesterday I got what is possibly the oddest Spam email I think I’ve ever received. I’m not sure why I got it, where my email was harvested (I’m actually really good with my email address to avoid harvesting, and have done a good job – I’m literally stuck on only one spam list, for the Houston Rockets), or what the heck the point of it was.
I used to get lots of spam before I had my domain because once you sign up for one list, you’re stuck with all the lists to which they decide to sell your address. So I was inundated with ads for credit ratings, Nigerian princes, and various erectile dysfunction drugs.
The combination of my good email practices and Microsoft Outlook’s Spam filter has made it so that today I live in a nearly spam-free environment. Yet the email I received yesterday did not get stopped by my spam filter (possibly due to its lack of links to anything, as well as its fine English) and showed up in my inbox. So I opened it. The contents are cryptic. I did not request such a recipe, nor does the website from which the email claims to be load. Here’s the full email:
From: Administrative Support [service@rfghnb.com]
Subject: Requested update.Recipe: Overnight Fruit Salad
Ingredients
1 small head cabbage, shredded (about 5 cups)
1 15oz can pineapple chunks, well drained
2 11oz cans mandarin orange sections, drained
2 cups seedless green grapes
1/3 cups light raisins
1 1/2 cups cubed Edam cheese
1 8oz carton lemon yogurt
1 cup dairy sour creamInstructions :
1. Place cabbage on bottom of large salad bowl.
2. Top with pineapple chunks, mandarin orange sections, grapes and raisins. Sprinkle cheese atop.
3. Combine yogurt and sour cream; spread over salad, sealing to edge of bowl
4. Cover and refrigerate for 4 to 24 hours. If desired, garnish with lemon and lime twist, curly endive, and a grape.
I ask you: What the heck?
Yeah, I got one too… Here.
Nice… Confusing… but nice.
Quote:
Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you
didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail
away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore.
Dream. Discover.
Mark Twain
Got the same one too, out of the blue, timely too –
History has demonstrated that the most notable winners usually encountered heartbreaking obstacles before they triumphed. They won because they refused to become discouraged by their defeats.
Bertie C. Forbes
Yes I got one too and am also very good with my new domain name and practices. But it was detected as junk mail and put there.
Interesting though of course I have a blackberry and i received the message on my phone.
Oddly it was a great message and appreciated as timely!! wtf
It simply read:
Quote:
History has demonstrated that the most notable winners usually encountered heartbreaking obstacles before they triumphed. They won because they refused to become discouraged by their defeats.
Bertie C. Forbes
I got this today:
Quote:
I give it to you not that you may remember time, but that you might
forget it now and then for a moment and not spend all your breath trying
to conquer it. Because no battle is ever won he said. They are not even
fought. The field reveals to a man his own folly and despair, and victory
is an illusion of philosophers and fools.
William Faulkner
The Sound and the Fury
Whois shows this:
Registrant:
MobileBriefs
801 Kellerman Kreek
Marietta, GA 30068
US
Registrar: DOTSTER
Domain Name: RFGHNB.COM
Created on: 07-MAY-09
Expires on: 07-MAY-10
Last Updated on: 11-MAY-09
Administrative Contact:
Price, Michael MPrice@MobileBriefs.com
MobileBriefs
801 Kellerman Kreek
Marietta, GA 30068
US
770-329-2523
Technical Contact:
Price, Michael MPrice@MobileBriefs.com
MobileBriefs
801 Kellerman Kreek
Marietta, GA 30068
US
770-329-2523
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.OPSWARE3.COM
NS2.OPSWARE3.COM
End of Whois Information
Registry Status: ok
i just got one too. so i googled it and found you guys. mine was a vonnegut quote. i just can’t figure out the motivation behind this…
We got the same “Fruit Salad Recipe” to our account addressed to the owner of our domain (me). Kinda weird since it was able to bypass SPAM and anti-virus software.
I too received a recipe, twice today to two different variations of my web email address from service@rfghnb.com. I will not be trying the BBQ sauce.
Yep! We got one as well. It was addressed to the person who registered the domain for our company. Conclussion they use a program like http://www.DomainTools.com / \Who is\ to retrieve the persons name from the domain registry. We have no persons names listed on our site!
Got the exact one this AM, as well as one with a Edward Eggleston quote
That’s so odd!
Yeah, I just received one with the same subject and the body was just an extensive quote from the Sound and the Fury. It’s kind of cool…
Update as of this morning, shortly after posting this:
I got another one, this time from “Tech Support [service@rfghnb.com]” and with the subject: “Here is the information you were asking for.”
It was sent to a slightly different email address, so my catch-all caught it.
But the contents were exactly the same. I can’t help but say that I’m interested in trying this recipe.